KINGDOM OF ASH AND BRIARS

2016, HOLIDAY HOUSE

badge-teen-100x128.png

NAMED ONE OF THE "BEST TEEN BOOKS OF 2016" BY KIRKUS REVIEWS

Bristal, an orphaned kitchen maid, lands in a gritty fairy tale gone wrong when she discovers she is an elicromancer with a knack for shape-shifting. An ancient breed of immortal magic beings, elicromancers have been winnowed down to merely two - now three - after centuries of bloody conflict in the realm. Their gifts are fraught with responsibility, and sixteen-year-old Bristal is torn between two paths. Should she vow to seek the good of the world, to protect and serve mortals? Or should she follow the strength of her power, even if it leads to unknown terrors? She draws on her ability to disguise herself as a man to infiltrate a prince's band of soldiers, and masquerades as a fairy godmother to shield a cursed princess, but time is running out. As an army of dark creatures grows closer, Bristal faces a supernatural war. To save the kingdoms, Bristal must find the courage to show her true form.

 

Building on homages to Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, Jane Austen’s Emma and the Chinese legend of Hua Mulan, Hannah West makes a spectacular debut.

 

REALM OF RUINS 

2018, HOLIDAY HOUSE

I was meant to touch the untouchable, destroy the indestructible.

A century after Bristal and Anthony saved the realm in Kingdom of Ash and Briars, their descendant Valory Braiosa attends a training academy for elicromancers, immortal beings with assorted magical gifts. Through a tragic accident, Valory comes to possess a destructive, unruly power and she flees her kingdom. But what she encounters next reveals darker forces at play: a resurrection spell cast by a bitter, lonely prince that awakens a long-dormant evil. As chaos spreads across the realm, Valory meets Mercer Fye, a secretive young man determined to topple the resurrected tyrant. They set out with a bickering band of allies, but the enemy is far more cunning than they imagined, and they must brave plagues, betrayal, and time-bending power struggles to save the soul of the realm.

Weaving together the imaginative world of Nissera with snippets from Beauty and the Beast and The Little Mermaid, Hannah West goes dark and dangerous in this gripping companion to her acclaimed debut. 

 
palace_of_silver_front_cvr_5-3-19_r.jpg

PALACE OF SILVER

04/28/2020, HOLIDAY HOUSE

Return to the land of Nissera, home to spectacular magic. An uneasy peace reigns now that Valory has vanquished the Moth King and settled into her rightful place as queen of Calgoran. New leaders Glisette and Kadri hope to usher the neighboring kingdoms into an era of healing and prosperity. All should be well.

But there’s a fourth queen in charge: Ambrosine, banished overseas to Perispos. Driven by vanity, she vows to become the most powerful and beautiful ruler in the world, even if it means oppressing the mortal kingdom she is meant to protect. Meanwhile a dangerous uprising led by elicromancer-hating rebels gains momentum. Rot spreads through the Forest of the West Fringe. Valory goes missing. Facing enemies on all sides, Glisette and Kadri must reckon with the role of magic. How far will they go to defend their power—and can they build an uprising of their own?

West intertwines homages to Snow White and Bluebeard with her imaginative magical setting for an exhilarating installment in the acclaimed Nissera Chronicles. Stunning hardcover edition includes a two-page map and family tree.

 

PRAISE FOR KINGDOM OF ASH AND BRIARS

"West mixes fairy-tale charm with contemporary mysticism to create a world both terrifying and wonderful." - Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"Brilliant, fascinating, and utterly impossible to put down. Hannah West makes a triumphant entry into the world of fairy tale retellings with one of the best books I've ever read."  - C.J. Redwine, New York Times best selling author of The Shadow Queen

"Classically crafted high fantasy--a call to love, a call to power, a crown at stake, a family at war--where magic runs through every word. Fans of The Shannara Chronicles or The Grisha Trilogy, look no further. - Margaret Stohl, New York Times best selling co-author of the Beautiful Creatures series

"Like Cashore and McKinley, Nix and Novik, Hannah West has crafted a tale both fresh and familiar--a fantasy epic lush in detail and breathlessly enchanting, with an indomitable heroine at its heart." - Claire Legrand, author of Winterspell

PRAISE FOR REALM OF RUINS

"A brilliantly paced adventure full of betrayals and romance and magic that sometimes has a mind of its own. I could have stayed and played in this treacherous world for a long time."

 - Stephanie Garber #1 New York Times best-selling author of Legendary

 "Epic storytelling, endearing characters, and an intriguing world make this book absolutely spellbinding. A magical, captivating read." 

 - Rebecca Ross, author of The Queen's Rising

Cover Art © 2018 by HOLIDAY HOUSE (ARTIST DANIEL BURGESS)

© 2018 by HANNAH WEST